About Lisa

I am Lisa V. I am 30 years old and live in Sault Ste. Marie, Ontario, Canada with my dog and cat. My blog has been rather over run this past year with me blogging about my two beautiful Golden Retrievers who died this past fall, back to back, less than two months apart. Sorry about that, but this is good therapy. My heart aches for them.

Luckily their nephew Monty was born in the fall and came home to live with me when he was 8 weeks old, just before Christmas. He’s a real fun puppy and he’s doing a remarkable job of keeping my spirits up.

As for hobbies, I enjoy being outside, but I am too often found attached to my desktop computer since my laptop passed on. I love campfires, swims in clean remote northern Ontario lakes, hiking in the woods, walking my dog, and fiddling around in my backyard. Now that I own a house, my backyard is my outdoor sanctuary where I can be found planting flowers in my garden and flower boxes, listening to CBC on my wind-up radio, and striving to keep my lawn dog-poop free. Now that I have an outdoor fireplace, I can feed my campfire pyromaniac tendencies as well. Can’t wait!

I have a thirst for knowledge. I used to read through piles of books in a flash, but since I’m moved to my desk chair, I do most of my reading and learning online. I find I no longer have the patience to read books – I want to know what I want to know without wading through the rest of the content. Search engines are my tool of choice!

I have a strong passion for web site creation – not just ordinary sites – but dynamic sites with reader interaction. I work during the day as a Web Programmer for the Canadian Government, but I long for the day I can work on my creations for home full-time. The pace of government design is exhausting, surprisingly enough, because it is so slow. I thrive under stricter deadlines and pressure, even if it’s self-imposed. Many nights I’ll refuse to go to bed until I get a script written and running flawlessly! So far, I’m fairly competent with Perl, MySQL, ColdFusion, Oracle, PHP, CSS, HTML, and now I’m learning VB.NET. Scripting in Perl with a MySQL database is my preference.

Favourite TV Shows: Gilmore Girls, Sopranos, Two and a Half Men, Big Love
Favourite Food: Pizza
Favourite Weather: A cold winter day, when its so cold there are no clouds, the sun is shining brightly, and the snow is twinkling.
Pets: Monty – Golden Retriever pup, Zeus – 6 year old tabby cat, two one cory catfish, and a betta fish named Morris.
What I Drive: a stinky, rusty, but payment-free, 1992 S10 Extended Cab pick up truck.

Lisa

Lisa (Verkley) Schuyler is a blogger reporting live from her new home in Canada’s Yukon Territory. Often found wearing a hoodie, covered in pet hair, Lisa is a mis-placed forester who now spends her days engineering happiness for WordPress users. Lisa loves nature, animals, and most importantly, her handsome husband Jeff.

2 Replies to “About Lisa

  1. Lisa,

    We just wanted to tell you how very sorry we both are for your tremendous double loss in the last couple of months. We are new to the CGR site and had no idea what you were dealing with as we haven’t yet had the opportunity to talk but we just wanted to let you know that we care.
    Gayle and Shel Frank

  2. Lisa,

    I am very sorry to read about your loss. It’s super hard to loose a Golden. You said you received a Golden Retriever Angel Pin. It had wings. Could you please tell me where to get one, please? I have been searching and searching the web for one,I am at my wits end.

    Thanks,
    Cathy Griffin

Leave a Reply